Can’t stop, won’t stop

The title pretty much sums up the theme of the San Fran Nike Women’s (half) Marathon weekend! So, here I am a week after smashing the hills of San Fran and I am still walking – although that was questionable for 2 days! I apologize for my delayed post, but coming back and then getting caught up on work and life got the best of me and this is the first moment I’ve been able to sit down and word vomit my thoughts for you.

First of all – a huge thank you to everyone who both donated and supported what seemed to be a year of training (reality – 3 months). My final tally was $3,360 raised for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of Canada through Team in Training. To be honest out of the training and the fundraising I was more terrified for being able to fundraise enough and it has definitely been a rewarding experience. It was also amazing to see where the money raised to went first hand at the Team in Training inspiration dinner. To be with all these amazing individuals who have worked so hard and through some of incredible life obstacles was absolutely inspiring.

I would also like to give a shout out to my home-boy/man-friend Sam who was amazing the whole trip – even got up at 4:15 am and went to the finish line to watch me cross! Couldn’t have asked for anything more!

The race itself seemed like it all happened in a blink of the eye. The pain afterword did not. I think no matter how much you prepare for this race you have no idea what these hills are like! It also seemed that no matter how many times people have run it, they also forget what the hills are like. Not so great when your friend has convinced you to run the race by saying ‘the hills aren’t that bad’ finishes the race and says ‘i forgot how bad the hills are…do you want to kill me?’.

DSC_0603 DSC_0606 DSC_0613 DSC_0624

The first two hills I was expecting, the third hill felt like everast (because, you know, I’ve obviously climbed that…not) and I actually didn’t think I’d make it. Thankfully Coach Theresa was there, spotted me and ran me up that last hill and our mantra was “red velvet cupcakes in my mouth”. Which did happen, after I shoved a burger in it.

A finish line, a Tiffany’s necklace and hip down paralysis later I was showered, had a nap and Sam had to help me put on my pants because I couldn’t move my right leg. I finished in a time of 2:05:01 which is just over 2 minutes faster from my first half marathon last year…soo I guess that means I’m signing up for another one to get it under 2 right?

DSC_0515 DSC_0523 DSC_0550 DSC_0619 DSC_0623

It’s funny, a month before the race all I could think about was taking a year off running a half and taking it ‘easy’ but I’ve taken a week off and just feel lost! I enjoy having something to train for – it may not be a half (but I will probably convinced) but looking forward to the next set of goals and training sessions!

Well, I guess this is it for me. Sarah took San Fran…like a boss. Now to take….Maui!?

Happy running everyone 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can’t stop, won’t stop

  1. Happy Runner says:

    Congrats!! What an awesome pace. I always forget the hills too. LOL.

  2. Erica Coutts says:

    WOOOOO HOOOO, YA SARAH PAUL!!! YOU DA BEST!

Leave a Reply

