Spring is Hurr

Hello friends! No that is not a spelling mistake, it’s just my gangsta swagger coming out for you. Spring is here, FINALLY! It’s finally light when I wake up in the morning and it takes me 3 less minutes getting dressed thanks to no longer having to put on nylons or wondering if the socks I have on will keep me warm enough.

A nice training recap for you – I set out Saturday morning to do 8 km and ended up doing 10.6 km in just over an hour so I was very happy with myself. I just kept giving myself points to get to on my run and got to the end hill and thought, ‘well, I’ve come this far’ so ran up it and wanted to die. But, I made it all the way back home and made myself a delicious peanut butter and banana on toast.

I also ran on Tuesday morning and did some interval training yesterday at the gym, which always makes me want to vomit, but I’m hoping to increase my speed and it’s the only way I know how.  I will also be doing another long run on Saturday with a friend I haven’t seen in a while so it will be a nice way to catch up.

I find running with a buddy is the only way to get me going a lot of the times. I don’t mind running on my own, but I think Lena Dunham in Season 1 of Girls illustrated my exact feelings on getting myself out of bed and the first 2 km of my runs:

anigif_enhanced-buzz-10618-1365432563-7

But after that I find I get into my groove and don’t mind the run as much. I actually find that I really hate running shorter distances but enjoy the long ones, especially on a Saturday mid-morning. Seriously there really is no better satisfaction than completing a nice long run on a Saturday then just hanging out, having a few brew-skis in the sun and thinking you can take on the world!

Alright, well I hope this has at least motivated some of you to get out this weekend and enjoy the weather. Must get back to work – the pipeline industry will not write about itself!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

